Gotcha!!!


The problem with capturing thunder lightening is that you have to be at the right time at the right place with the right view and right kind of equipment (did I mention shelter? :)), in short you need large stock of luck 🙂 I have always wanted to capture one!

It was a really lazy Saturday evening when I was lying on the couch, tired and watching an episode of “Two And A Half Men” on TV when I saw flashes of light in the sky.  This woke me up for boredom and with not too much of hope but a lot of excitement, I rushed to setup my tripod and camera. Luckily for me, that day the area where lightening could be found was clearly visible from my balcony. I put the camera in bulb mode and used the IR remote to control the shutter. I had no idea how to capture the lightening in day time so I tweaked all kinds of settings which (I thought) would reduce the amount of light entering the camera in order to achieve longer exposure. I took a lot of pictures, blew many and missed many lightening strikes due to bad timings. Throughout the session I was praying to God for a lightening shot :).

But in the end I managed to capture one lightening strike (yayyy!!!). This just made my day!! I know this is not the best of the shots but still I am so happy for I was able to capture one. This was one of my all time “to do (before dying)” 😉 I have learnt a few things from this session and hopefully next time when I have luck on my side, I would be able to shoot a better one.

EXIF INFORMATION:

Exposure: 130

Aperture: f/22.0

Focal Length: 18 mm

ISO Speed: 100

Exposure Bias: -5 EV (Used this for the first time. I hope this played a part)

Enjoy the rest of the Sunday!

~ by Haroon on June 19, 2011.

2 Responses to “Gotcha!!!”

  1. Buhat hi waila shaks hay tu 😛

    Per Awesome shotttt 😉

Leave a Reply

 
